Observation on management

Since about a year I’ve been working at my new job, where the working culture is quite different from the one at my previous job.

But some things remain the same. One of these is my very own Management Law Number 2 (here’s my very own Management Law Number 1):

Bad news always comes at the wrong time.

For some reason the perception of bad news always comes with the notion that some circumstance made it inappropriate to bring the bad news out at the moment it was brought out. Unfortunately this applies to any other moment as well, had it been chosen.

The other day I found out that my very own Management Law Number 2 isn’t always valid, but in these cases there’s a corollary of my very own Management Law Number 2:

Perfectly non-suspect, unrelated and neutral occurrences, and even good news may -in the presence of bad news-be perceived as ‘adding insult to injury’.

Maybe the two are corollaries of some other Law. Isn’t there an English proverb that says bad news never travels alone?

Leave a Reply

