Obama

While sitting in the train back home yesterday a friend texts me: ‘I’ve just read that tomorrow Obama will ride into Washington on a donkey!’

I burst out in laughter so loud people looked up to me. I felt obliged to explain so I told my fellow travelers I had just received a very funny text message and read it to them.

Most listeners looked puzzled. One woman asked me in earnest: ‘Oh, really?’

I thought I could save the situation by explaining this was a biblical reference. Before I could elaborate however, one of them said ‘ah!’ as if to indicate he had understood, but his eyes had the same blank look in them as before.

Secularism has its disadvantages too…

3 Responses to “Obama”

  1. serendipity hopeful Says:

    As a foreigner who wants good things to happen in any and all parts of the world, I wish Americans will work more in harmony with their president. How successful Obama can be as American president will depend on how well his fellow-Americans can rein in their demands for their expectations to be satisfied.

    http://novice101.wordpress.com/2009/01/20/inauguration-and-high-hopes/

    Keep the hopes alive.

  2. I told this story to a friend of mine, who asked what was the joke – the Biblical reference or the fact that the Democratic Party has a donkey as its symbol.

  3. America is loaded with Obama jokes, generally friendly, but not always.

    I am in Chicago, his home, and we love him dearly. Yes, he has become somewhat divine!

    Girls advertising for dates on Craigslist will sometimes ask “Are you my Obama?” They do not mean that they are looking for a black male, but are looking for someone with his magic.

    Many of us are surprised that disease still roams the world! Give him a few more months!

    Mike

Leave a Reply

